04.21.11 Ben Harper working on a new album with the Innocent Criminals & Bluesfest reunion

by kevin

Ben Harper working on a new album with the Innocent Criminals & Bluesfest reunion


Harper surprises Bluesfest with reunion

BEN Harper surprised a large crowd at the opening night of the 22nd annual Byron Bay Bluesfest by by reuniting his trailblazing band The Innocent Criminals for the first time since 2008.

Harper was billed to close the Mojo stage program last night with one of his other bands Relentless7, who played with him at his last Bluesfest performance in 2009.

''Hey Byron, we missed you,'' Harper said as he took the stage with The Innocent Criminals, before launching into a reggae version of With My Own Two Hands.

Speaking from the US before arriving in Australia, Harper promised his opening-night show would represent Ben Harper ''past, present and future'' and said he was working on a new album with Innocent Criminals.

He followed through on his promise with an all-encompassing set, mixing up styles and swapping from slide to acoustic and electric guitar for tracks including Ground on Down, Diamonds on the Inside and Burn One Down.


Today's Good Friday Day 2 bill includes a highly anticipated show by 85-year-old blues great BB King; the Australian debut of Ben Harper's new trio, Fistful of Mercy, featuring Joseph Arthur and Dhani Harrison, son of Beatle George Harrison; and the first of Grace Jones's two Bluesfest performances.

Suzanne Simonot | April 22nd, 2011



Apr 21, 2011 09:30PM
Byron Bay, NSW Australia

Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals

Ben Harper
Jason Yates
Juan Nelson
Leon Mobley
Michael Ward
Oliver Charles

Accompanied By
Jessy Greene

Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals live at Bluesfest, Byron Bay, Australia 2011. Jessy Greene (violinist from Fistful of Mercy) accompanied Ben on "Morning Yearning."

Set 1
1. With My Own Two Hands
2. Ground On Down
3. Diamonds On The Inside
4. Gold To Me
5. Sexual Healing
6. Please Bleed
7. Black Rain
8. Glory & Consequence
9. Waiting For You
Encore 1
10. Morning Yearning
11. Mutt
12. Walk Away
Encore 2
13. She's Only Happy In The Sun
14. Amen Omen
15. Steal My Kisses
16. Burn One Down
17. Better Way


No comments/reviews yet for this item. Login or Register to add yours.